I am thankful :)


i roll out the red carpet for this blog post from lydia! We swapped blogs for the week. check out my guest post there- Did You Know It Hurts So Bad When You Say “You’re Not Sick”?

I have a lot to be grateful for:

All of my loyal readers. They have made this blog what it is. Without them I would just be journaling to myself as I have for most of my life. Having an audience who appreciates my words and gives me encouragement is an amazing gift.

My Hubby, who has definitely lived our marriage vows – in sickness and in health, for richer or poorer…
A group of friends who accept me as I am in the moment and go out of their way to make my life a little brighter.

Mine and my Hubby’s families who may not understand my health but try to accept me as I am.

My illnesses because they have made me strong and have given me the ability to help others.

Those people who don’t understand or recognize chronic illness because they have given me the drive to fight for the stigma to end.

God, for making me who I am.
Being thankful for negative things goes a long way to making them positive. I have found that all of the trials I have gone through in my life have each had a purpose. Recognizing those purposes is the first step to winning the battle.

Displaying glasses1.jpg

I have had many health struggles in my 50+ years. When I have to tell a new doctor my history it takes an hour so I have written it down – all the diagnoses, symptoms, medicines, etc. For much of my life (starting as early as 8) I have suffered from depression and bipolar; however, in the last few years, I have learned how to control the illness instead of it controlling me. I also suffer from all sorts of chronic pain – this too has made me stronger. I feel that everything thing I have gone through in the way of physical and mental illness has just been to make me stronger and able to help others. So I do that through my blog, Being Lydia, and the advocacy site I am about to unveil very soon.

I am a retired caterer and cake decorator who still loves to play in the kitchen, cook and bake for others. I also am a crafter, dabbling in crochet, quilting, sewing, paper crafts and photography. That may sound like a crazy bunch of hobbies, but I go through phases where one is in the forefront.

Lydia!

 

.

2 thoughts on “I am thankful :)

Leave a Reply

