Why you really should write your heart out (backed by science)


Welcome to the 2nd week of the chronic illness challenge! 

Can you believe that we are already halfway through? 

So today’s awesome challenge is….

Write a diary entry

Ok,so ill be honest.even though I have kept a diary for years,and swear by the therapeutic benefits of it, I have not been great about writing lately. Not because I didn’t want to,but because of my various infections making it difficult to concentrate and painful to write. 

So I guess writing about all the reasons why you should write i me talking to myself, and you are just the awkward bystander listening in. So,self here are some great health  benefits that should convince you to restart writng!



Studies have shown  that writing expressively about your day to do experiences can reduce stress, boost your immune system, and reduce depression. Writing has also been proven to help people recover from past traumatic experiences.

In a study, scientists found that people who had previous trauma and journeled,had needed half as many doctor appointments! So,I guess the new refrain can be “a entry a day keeps the doctor away.”

A study published in the journal of the American medical journal found that people suffering from asthma and rheumatoid arthritis who wrote about stressful experiences had less flares. 

Experts recommend 20 minutes of writing 3~4 times a week 

So if you are still not convinced you can check out my two sources who will tell you even more reasons why keeping a diary is so good for you. 

here’s source one

and source two

oh,and you can also check this out

But I am convinced, so I am offering you a free printable checklist of 30 ideas to get your diary started. It is tailored for people with chronic illness.

grab your awesome free checklist here!(pss… it comes with a bonus 5 ways to spice up your diary)

This is a part of the 30 day challenge? Wait? You are not a part of it?! Oh,my goodness you better sign up right now if you want great,scientifically backed ways to feel better every day.

 click me to become a chronic illness warrior

Have a great day,peoples! 

But before you go,talk to me:have you ever kept a diary? Would you consider keeping one? Why or why not?

Leave a Reply

